As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Stream mode with LabJack U3

streaming u3

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 steve6540

steve6540
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 July 2015 - 08:43 AM

Hi,

This is my first time working with the u3. I am trying to write a streaming program in Python that gets analog readings from FIO4 (called AIN4 when configured to be analog, I believe) and convert them to voltages. I am going to then plot those voltages versus time, and eventually frequency.

My goal is to be able to continuously stream data and plot it versus time. I am only reading one channel, so I believe I can read at 50k/sec. I have tried to use the low level command d.getFeedback(u3.AIN(4)), but I get an error that the stream has already been started.

I chose to convert all of the unsigned values outside the loop in order to minimize the number of packets lost.

I am having trouble appending an array with the readings. With the current code, I get a KeyError: 

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "C:/Users/_____/PycharmProjects/New1/src/Streaming Program.py", line 59, in <module>
    rawDataList.append(r['AIN4'])
KeyError: 'AIN4'

Below is my code, with remnants of old code now commented just in case. 

# We need the date and time in order to plot our data
import traceback
from datetime import datetime

#importing matplotlib in order to plot what we get
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import matplotlib.animation as animation
import numpy

#import the u3
import u3

# Open the U3
d = u3.U3()