As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Labjack UE9 to Control a switch to a magnetic brake

control switch thyristor pnp

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 lan1990

lan1990
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 06:56 PM

Hi,

I am very new to electronics and the forums.Here goes my question:

I have labjack UE9 attached to encoders that read the position of the encoder.My matlab code works fine and keeps reading the pulses from the timers.

Now based on a particular value I need to switch a magnetic brake on and off.In other words I need to switch/break the power supply to the brake.

Attached links and pics of the brake below.

https://www.youtube....h?v=HrQPAZXsP6I

Basically it has 2 wires(+ve and -ve terminals).

How to I go about it?Shoud I use a PNP transistor?A switch maybe?If so ,How do i send a pulse from the labjack to the switch(i mean which code in matlab does that and does a 5v supply to the swich suffice)?

Thank you so much in advance.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails

• brake imp.PNG

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 12:41 PM