As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Controlling multiple 12V solenoid valves

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 alkaram

alkaram
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 13 May 2014 - 08:13 AM

I'm relatively new to LabJack, automation, etc.  I'm working on a research project that will require control of 3 normally closed, 12V solenoid valves. 

I've been reading online about all the different types of relays and relay boards but since I'm so new to this, I easily get lost in the terminology.  I'm trying to determine the best type of configuration to easily control these three valves while keeping things as simple as possible.  I've read about the RB12  relay board and modules but I'm not really sure what exactly the board is doing or what the modules are doing and how to select the correct type of modules.   What advantages would this type of setup hold to another type of solid-state relay? 

Any advice or suggested readings would be very much appreciated. 

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 13 May 2014 - 08:16 AM

You need to provide a 12 volt power supply that can provide the current for all 3 solenoids.  You then use the U6 to control some sort of switch that gates that 12 volt power to each solenoid.

How much current do each of your solenoids require?  If they are rated for Watts, take Watts/Volts to get current.

#3 alkaram

alkaram
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 13 May 2014 - 01:38 PM