As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

How to count pulses from sensor?

MatLab LabJack U3-HV Pasco Rotary Motion Sensor Count Pulses

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 unknownsector

unknownsector
  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 April 2014 - 10:03 AM

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner and am trying to read in the data from a Pasco Rotary Motion Sensor (http://www.pasco.com...?TechNoteID=265) into my LabJack U3-HV

The sensor has two outputs, it pulses to an output depending on if it detects motion in one direction or another. So for example, if the sensor is moved clockwise, one of the lines will have a pulse for a set length, and if moved counter-clockwise, the other output will receive a pulse for every set length.

So if I can tally the pulses, I can effectively plot the motion. The problem is I'm very new to LabJack, and I'm using MatLab.

Any advice, or code examples you guys can recommend? I tried looking at the U3_simplestream.m but I couldn't figure out what parts of the code were necessary, and which I can omit for my purposes. I have been able to connect to the LabJack in MatLab without issue.

Am I to stream the output of the sensor and try to count? Or do I specify those channels as counters and let them do the work?

Any help would be appreciated.

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 11 April 2014 - 03:33 PM

I suggest you try using the counters on the U3 to count the pulses:

http://labjack.com/s...users-guide/2.9