As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Raw Input/Output Fails in C++

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JeffW

JeffW
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 10:56 PM

This is my first time programming the LabJack (really cool device) so this problem may simply be my lack of experience.

I can successfully communicate with my U3 Labjack using the LJUD_DynamicLinking.h and library. (C++ Visual Studio 2008)
But when I try a raw communication to a single DS18B20 connected to EI06 (through a DB15 connector) it fails.

LJ_HANDLE ljHandle;
LJ_ERROR ljError;
double dblVoltage;
double commandArray[8];
unsigned char* bytePtr;
double numBytesToWrite=64;

ljError = m_pOpenLabJack (LJ_dtU3, LJ_ctUSB, "1", TRUE, &ljHandle);
(Return No Error)

ljError = m_peAIN(ljHandle, 3, 31, &dblVoltage, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);
(Return No Error)

printf("AIN3 value = %.3f\n",dblVoltage);
(prints 1.388 and shows that communication has been established to the device)

(Command array is filled in according to the DS18B20 spec sheet)
bytePtr=(unsigned char *) commandArray;

bytePtr[1]=0xF8;
bytePtr[2]=0x1D;
bytePtr[3]=0x3C;
bytePtr[4]=0x00;
bytePtr[5]=0x00;
bytePtr[6]=0x00;
bytePtr[7]=0x00;
bytePtr[8]=0x0E;//EI06
bytePtr[9]=0x00;
bytePtr[10]=0x00;
bytePtr[11]=0x33;//Specify Read ROM Command
for(i=12;i<64;i++) bytePtr[i]=0x00;//Zero out the rest to guarantee checksum does not get messed up.
//
(compute the checksum for the bytes 1-63)
bytePtr[0]=eightBitCheckSum(64,
bytePtr);