As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Using the Barometric Pressure Sensor BARO-A-4V

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jhenise

jhenise
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:40 AM

Hello,

I am doing some prototype work with your Barometric pressure sensor BARO-A-4V, for a data acquisition devise that I am building.

http://www.allsensor...-0041-Rev-A.pdf

I am rather new to this type of work so if this question seem naÔve please forgive me.
I am a chemist by trade and a bit of a hack in electronics.

Based on the specs in the sensorís data sheet of nominal output voltage of 0.25 @ 600 mbar and 4.25 @ 1100 mbar I set up a linearization equation from those two points to convert output voltage to pressure: mbar = 0.125(Vout)+0.5688

However the pressure readings I get seem to be low for example I get 988 mbar and expect 1010 mbar.

I am driving the sensor with +5V input voltage.

Am I over looking something?

Do I need to compensate for input voltage or calibrate the sensor against a known pressure to be more accurate?

Please let me know!

Best Regards,
Jeff Henise

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:13 AM