As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Honeywell HIH-5030 Humidity Sensor

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jhenise

jhenise
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:23 AM

Hello All,

I am a scientist by trade (chemist) so I am not a stranger to quantative reasoning, thermodynamics, and physics.

However when it comes to electronics I am a hack! Maybe you can help me understand some things!!

I have hooked up a Honeywell HIH-5030 humidity sensor to my LabJack U6:
http://sensing.honey...ument/1/re_id/0

It is s sensor that takes a DC supply voltage and outputs a voltage linearly with humidity.

I hooked the supply pins to GND and VS, and Vout directly to AIN0.
I am using DAQ Factory to acquire and manage the data.

The equation for converting voltage to relative humidity (RH) is:

((Vout/VS)-0.1515)/0.00636 = (RH )

and with temperature compensation (T = oC):

(((Vout/VS)-0.1515)/0.00636) / (1.0546-0.00216*T) = (RH )

I seem to get good results like this.

However I see diagrams where there resistors and capacitors hooded up with the sensor like this for example:

http://test.tag4m.co...3/hih-50302.jpg

Can someone please explain what the resistors and capacitors are for in the above circuit?

Thanks!!
JEFF

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:28 AM