As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

Using U12 for measuring small currents onto ground

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 hp_lj

hp_lj
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:37 AM

Dear LabJack community,

I am a complete novice in the use of DAQ devices (and actually don't have a very strong electrical engineering background in general). Your input on the following problem would therefore be highly appreciated:

I have a coopper plate that I use to measure ion currents onto the ground (coming from a nearby coronating wire). I am currently measuring these currents with a pico-ammeter but want to change to the U12 in order to measure several channels simultaneously. The currents I want to measure are approximtaley in the range of 0-20 uA.

The attached figure shows how I have currently connected my setup. I have tried with various resistors (between 100kOhm and 1MOhm) and the results I am obtaining can be made to fit the results I get from my dedicated pico-ammeter. So far so good.