As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

10k sensors

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 ampicoj

ampicoj
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 December 2012 - 02:42 PM

I am a rank amateur with the LabJack. I have purchased a UE6. It will be used, initially, to monitor some 14 points, using Goldline 10k sensors. Can someone point me toward material on the best way to connect the sensors to the LabJack/Multiplexor? The decision for differential or single-ended seems very unclear. Also where are the low-level programming functions documented for C#? Many thanks, AmpicoJ

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:00 PM

Sounds like you have thermistors:

http://labjack.com/s...erature-sensors

Consider using silicon-type sensors instead if you can.

Easiest way to monitor thermistors is using the 10UA current source on the U6:

http://labjack.com/s...users-guide/2.5

You put all thermistors in series so that the 10uA current goes through each. By measuring the voltage across each thermistor, you can calculate the resistance of each (R=V/I). Rather than just using 0.000010 for the value of the current, you should use the actual value measured during calibration which you can see in the test panel in LJControlPanel, or better yet use a fixed resistor (Y1453-1.0K from digikey) to measure the actual value in real-time.