As of July 17, 2015, the LabJack forums here at forums.labjack.com are shut down. New registrations, topics, and replies are disabled. All forums are in a read-only state for archive purposes.

Please visit our current forums at labjack.com/forums to view and make new posts. To post on the current forums, use your labjack.com login account. Your old LabJack forums login credentials have been retired. There are no longer separate logins for labjack.com and LabJack forums.

Photo

U6, Labview, and pump tachometer

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 4Strings

4Strings
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 05:51 PM

Hi, I'm new to both Labview and LabJacks, and I have the following problem. I have a small water loop consisting of a small pump. The said pump is connected to my LabJack U6 with three wires: 1. A Control Signal In, 0-5Vdc or 4-20mA (I'm using 0-5V) wire connected to DAC0 on the U6. 2. A Common wire connected to GND on the U6. And 3. A Tachometer Out; 0-6V Square Wave wire connected to AIN0 Now in Labview I've set up a system where I should be able to manually control the speed of the pump using a virtual control knob through DAC0, and read the flowrate from the tachometer, through AIN0, on an indicator in Labview. Now my problem is that the voltage reading in Labview (both on a number indicator and on an XY Graph) from AIN0 is unreasonable. I'm getting near-zero when the pump is off, huge peaks when I run the pump at low voltage, and almost no reading when the pump runs at the full 5V. What must I do to get rational readings??? Thanks, 4Strings

#2 LabJack Support

LabJack Support
  • Admin
  • 8677 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 07:04 AM

Do you have a link to technical details for the pump? In particular, details about the tach signal?